Gluten is a protein found in Wheat, Barley and Rye. All flours made from these grains contain Gluten.
Oats are naturally gluten free, but because of growing and harvesting methods (using same fields, same machinery etc) most oats would not be considered safe for Celiacs. You can find Certified Gluten Free Oats in most specialist shops or in the specialist foods section of your supermarket. However, some Celiacs do not tolerate oats well even if they are certified gluten free. Speak to your Doctor about Oats and whether you should include them in your diet.
Gluten can be hidden everywhere…..
When you are first diagnosed you probably walk away thinking it’s not to bad, gluten is only in so many things right? Pasta, bread, cakes… wrong! Gluten can probably be found in over half of the stuff in your cupboards and fridge. The best and easiest way to find out if something has gluten in it is to google. Don’t forget the E numbers, food additives etc. And remember, ‘if in doubt, leave it out’. If you are not able to find out if a product is safe, don’t eat it! The lists here are by no means complete, it’s just a starting point. Anyone with Celiac disease, gluten intolerance or wheat allergy should check all products carefully before buying them. Remember though, there are great gluten free brands and alternatives out there, so don’t think you will never be able to enjoy chocolate or ice cream again, you will, as long as you buy the right brand. While one ketchup may have gluten, another is safe etc.
May Contain Gluten
Chicken (can sometimes be injected with fillers)
Yoghurt & Custard
Ready made sauces
Dates with Chocolate
(original post from GlutenFree UAE)